The 1881 Courthouse Museum presents Southern Black
Hills history from General George Armstrong Custer's 1874 Expedition to today's
2016 Marks 41 Years as a Museum
Following the announcement in
1973 by Custer County Board of Commissioners that a new courthouse would be
built and the old building retired, the Custer County Historical Society
initiated a petition throughout the county requesting that the old historical
building be turned over to the Society and be converted into a museum to
preserve the history of the Southern Black Hills.
Over the next two years, the
transformation of Custer County government took place and in the year 1975 the
new building was complete and the old courthouse was vacant. It was that year the museum was born, and
serves as the permanent repository of the vast and fascinating history of
Custer County, South Dakota.